

International Council of the Aeronautical Sciences

ICAS Secretariat, c/o DGLR, D-53175 Bonn, Germany Phone: +49.228.3080519, Fax: +49.228.3080524 E-mail: <u>icas@icas.org</u>, Web: <u>www.icas.org</u>

# FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## Bonn, Germany – Monday, 30 November 2015

# Prestigious Awards to be presented at ICAS Congress in Daejeon, South Korea

ICAS – the International Council of the Aeronautical Sciences, is proud to announce the latest recipients of its prestigious awards, which will be presented at the 30<sup>th</sup> ICAS Congress (ICAS 2016) to be held in Daejeon, South Korea, 25-30 September 2016.

"The process of nominating, reviewing and finalising the selection of high quality recipients is a long and rigorous one, and on this occasion was the responsibility of Prof. Murray Scott, ICAS Immediate Past President and his Honours & Awards Committee", said Christian Mari, ICAS President.

Following intensive review, the ICAS Executive Committee accepted all of the recommendations put forward and ICAS is delighted to announce the following 2016 awards:

## ICAS Daniel & Florence Guggenheim Memorial Lecture Award

Seung Jo Kim – South Korea

## ICAS von Kármán Award for International Cooperation in Aeronautics

Airbus A350 XWB Programme: Chief Engineer, Gordon McConnel – United Kingdom, and Programme Head, Didier Evrard – France

**ICAS "Paul Keuk Chang" Award for Innovation in Aeronautics** *Gregg Pyers – United Kingdom* 

ICAS Maurice Roy Award Ronald Bengelink – United States of America

ICAS John J. Green Award Michaela Herr – Germany

ICAS - IFAR Award William P. Leser – United States of America

For more information contact the ICAS Secretariat: *icas@icas.org* 



# **ICAS AWARDEES 2016**

#### **ICAS - Daniel and Florence Guggenheim Award**



The Distinguished Lectureship Award is intended to recognise and honour a scientist or engineer of eminence who in a long and productive career has made a significant contribution to progress in aeronautics.

#### **Recipient: Professor Seung Jo Kim, Korea**

*Citation: In recognition of outstanding lifetime contributions in structural analysis of airplane structures and aeronautical education, and the endeavour on design and development of VTOL aircraft and cyclocopter.* 

#### ICAS – von Karman Award for International Cooperation in Aeronautics



D. Evrard G. Mc Connell

Its purpose is to acknowledge exceptional achievement in international cooperation in the field of aeronautics, being awarded to a project or programme in which two or more countries are major participants and which is characterised by substantial technical achievement, scientific or technological advance or benefit to society.

#### Recipient: Dr. Didier Evrard, France, and Dr. Gordon Mc Conell, United Kingdom

Citation: The Airbus A350 XWB global team, represented by Didier Evrard and Gordon Mc Connell is nominated for realizing the design, manufacturing, first flight and certification of an exceptional new wide body civil aircraft, fostering an unprecedented global operation between research institutions, risk sharing partners, suppliers and service partners.

#### **ICAS - Award for Innovation in Aeronautics**



Its purpose is to honour persons of distinction who have an exceptional record in fostering international cooperation between scientists by their personal participation and involvement in aeronautics.

**Recipient:** Gregg Pyers, U.S.A. *Citation:* In recognition of his long dedication to providing the vertical lift capability to the F-35B in the Joint Strike Fighter in multi-national environment.



#### ICAS – Maurice Roy Medal



Its purpose is to recognize contributions of an individual or a team in effectively integrating a suite of advanced technologies, combined with new design and/or manufacturing processes, to create a new aeronautical system with significant worldwide impact.

#### Recipient: Dr. Ronald Bengelink, U.S.A.

*Citation: For his exceptional record in fostering international cooperation between scientists by their personal participation and involvement in aeronautics.* 

#### ICAS - John J. Green Award



Its purpose is to honour young persons of distinction who are demonstrating an exceptional record in fostering international cooperation between scientists by their personal participation and involvement in aeronautics.

#### **Recipient:** Dr. Michaela Herr, Germany Citation: In recognition for outstanding activities and intellectual performance in aeroacoustics, especially in advancing noise reduction technologies.

#### ICAS – IFAR Award



The purpose of the ICAS-IFAR Award is to honour an individual who has made a significant contribution to Aeronautical Science within his/her doctoral thesis (PhD or equivalent).

Recipient: Dr. William P. Leser, U.S.A.

*Citation: In recognition for significant contribution in exploring sensory alloys in the field of smart sensing materials in your doctoral thesis".* 

#### **ICAS - John McCarthy Student Awards**

1st Florian Mahiddini, France 2nd Christian Niermann, Germany